After the success, a reality check. Doh!

It’s a while since I blogged and partly because of the shame. After my success at the 5K parkrun a few weeks ago I entered the run again, (success is relative). Amazingly I shaved 10 minutes off my PB!!!!! You’d have thought I’d be ecstatic! Well I would have except…..sigh……. in the final 1K I started to notice quite a few runners overtaking me who looked really fit and were running well. At first I thought they were running a warm down lap. After crossing the finishing line and getting my breath back, (a good 5 mins after), I noticed the woman I’d been running behind at one point coming in. It was then that the penny dropped. I’d taken a wrong turn and had cut off a sizeable part of the course. How embarassing! My 5K PB is really a 4K PB 😀

I didn’t fess up to the organisers, (it wasn’t on purpose but I felt such a fool!) and it’s my own fault that my PB may now be an impossible target. Who knows how long it will take me to beat it but I’m going to give it a go!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment